Cheer Up!

Exactly what Jesus told me last Sunday when the always-walking-on-dreamland-me lost my sister’s Lego watch.

We were on our way to the church to attend the afternoon service. When we got off the jeepney, I knew the watch was still chic-ly strapped around my left wrist. Few walks and some la-la-la-la-la, and voila! When I tried to check the time, the Lego watch’s already gone! The lock must have been accidentally opened.

Few nags from my ‘younger’ sister and then we decided to just order asap a new one of the same style online. Of course I’ll be the one to pay for that! Remind me again that ‘those who love money never have money enough.’ I guess I’ve got to post that Bible passage in all my stuff so I’ll be reminded every now and then, especially when my mental money calculator starts striking again.

Okay, so I was still in a bit low spirit when we got inside the church. Worship started. I was trying to feel God’s presence so I closed my eyes–feeling the beautiful rhythm and lyrics of the praise song we were singing. Then one of the church leaders went up the stage and shared a Bible verse from the Book of Mark:

Mark 6:50 “for they all saw him, and were troubled. But he immediately spoke with them, and said to them, “Cheer up! It is I! Don’t be afraid.”

But I couldn’t grasp every bit of the word from that verse. Then he offered a prayer so I again closed my eyes. When I opened my eyes again, I looked straight to the LCD screen and the first two words that I saw was “CHEER UP.” Right there and then, I knew that it was God’s way of comforting me for what had just happened. In an instant, I felt even better. I just witnessed and felt God’s wonderful way of comforting His saddened child. That was a wonderful, wonderful feeling! God is indeed an amazing and comforting Father:-)

Leave a Reply

