The Thankful Thirty Project. Day 5

March 5.

Today, I’m thankful to God for blessing me with crazy bunch of cousins on both sides of the family.

Not all people have that kind of close bond with their cousins. And maybe there are even some who don’t even have the chance to spend time and share memories with their cousins at all. Hence, I am super thankful that God made me belong to the families where there are different kind of bond between cousins.

I don’t actually consider my cousins as just ‘part’ of the family. They are ONE OF THE SPECIAL REASONS why I love being with my family. They are my happy pills. They’re the source of my heart-filled laughter. I would really trade a night out with friends just to spend crazy night of watching ‘koreanovelas’ or pigging out with them.

I especially love the feeling of waking up in the morning and seeing my younger cousins sleeping beside me. I love that these youngsters look up to me as their ate. That even though I keep on telling them what to do and not to do or reprimanding them for what they’ve done wrong, I know that they still love me and treasure the times I bring them to different places and make them experience new things. They even thought that Mother Nature is my best friend because I keep on telling them that Mother Nature will get mad if they will just throw their litters on the floor.

I love that I found a barkada among my cousins. We plan family events together, we try new things together, we watch movie together, get really out of tune in videoke lounges together, we go to random places together and a lot of various things we love doing together. I love that it’s easier to plan dinner dates with them and our parents wouldn’t mind us coming home late because we’re with each other.

I’m thankful that during the lowest points of our lives, we have each other to cry with and to move on with.

I’m thankful because during my ’emo’ moments and I don’t have available friends to be with me, they’re there for me. Just their presence alone could already lift my mood up. Well they don’t actually always mean to be available…it’s just that most of their houses are just a few walks from our house so I could just go there if I’m feeling down and just seeing their funny antics, especially the little ones, could already make my day.

When I grow old, some of my friends might be too far away or too busy with their own lives to spend time with each other. That’s  a bit scary, though. But at least I know that when that worst time comes, I still have my cousins to have coffee with. We don’t actually need annual family reunions to see each other because we could always set a special date to be with each other and no amount of busyness could hinder that.

Friends come and go but my cousins will always remain as they are until the end. After all, there’s no such thing is ‘disowning’ your cousins.

Really, thank You Lord for the gift of crazy cousins!

Cousins are often the first friends of your life…. Cousins share your childhood memories. ….No one will ever understand your crazy family like your cousins!!!

Leave a Reply

